As the governing body of Hope Community Services, the Board  provides leadership and vision to Hope Community Services Inc. in enhancing its success over time.  It provides the strategic direction for the organisation establishing goals for management and monitoring the achievement of these goals, making certain that our actions reflect our Mission, Vision and Values and ensures the prudent use for our resources in the most efficient and appropriate way for the people we care for.

We are indebted and grateful to have such a diverse and passionate group of Board Members, with skills and expertise in a wide variety of fields including strategic human resources, risk management, law, accounting and finance, insurance, health services, and cultural security.

Our Board

Jonathon Woolfrey - Chair

Jonathon completed a Bachelor of Psychology and a Masters of Business Administration through Curtin University and an Executive Master in Public Administration (Public Policy) through the Australia New Zealand School of Government. Jonathon’s career as an executive in people strategy & management and human resources has seen him hold leadership positions at organizations such as Catholic Education, the Department of the Attorney General, and Medicare Australia. Jonathon currently runs a successful consultancy service, advising corporate, not-for-profits and government on strategy, culture and talent. His professional experience is complemented by serving on a number of high level boards and committees.





Lara Drabble - Deputy Chair

Lara holds a Bachelor of Science from Australian National University and a Graduate Diploma in Education from James Cook University.  Her career focused on education, later moving into financial services. Lara’s fields of expertise are in liability, security and risk management. She is a Senior Associate at The Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance.
















Megan Milligan - Secretary

Megan has over three decades of experience in the health arena. She is highly skilled in project management, human resources and leadership. She holds a Bachelor of Pharmacy and a Postgraduate Diploma in Health Promotion. She has worked in health promotion for a number of organisations including the Department of Health (WA), the Department of Veterans’ Affairs, Injury Control Council of Western Australia and Edith Cowan University. She specialises in the prevention of alcohol and other drug problems at a population health level.















Robert Campbell - Treasurer


Robert  (CPA, MSW, MAICD, Registered Company Auditor & Tax Agent) is qualified in audit, tax, accounting and social work administration.  He is a graduate of the University of New South Wales holding a Bachelor of Social Work (Honours) and a Master of Social Work (Administration) and The University of Technology, Sydney where he completed the Graduate Course in Accounting. He has completed additional postgraduate studies in organisational development and business administration at the Universities of Sydney and Central Queensland. Robert began his professional career in auditing and then moved quickly into the Not-For-Profit sector where he had over 25 years of leadership experience in a variety of CEO positions. Today he is Managing Director at Australian Audit Group Pty Ltd. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and  the Professional Users Group of the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission, and serves on the Boards of St. Bartholomew’s House, and Alta-1 Australia.

Derek Councillor

Derek has over 20 years’ experience in counselling and financial management advice to indigenous communities and individuals in regional and rural Australia. Derek holds associate degree of applied Science in Indigenous community management and development (Curtin) as well as certificates in Counselling and Aboriginal Social/Emotional wellbeing. He has held appointments providing serviced to Indigenous Communities for the ministry of justice, Psychological assessments for the department of health, the Department for Community Development as well as lectured for the Indigenous Psychological Services, Hedland College, ATSIC and ST Johns Ambulance.





Karen Bateman

Karen has over 30 years’ experience at senior management and executive levels in corporate governance, risk management, internal audit, compliance, business continuity and business consulting. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce in accounting and management, and is a member of CPA Australia, the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a past WA President of the Institute of Internal Auditors. Karen has held a variety of executive roles for several organisations including Ernst & Young, PwC, Office of the Auditor  General and Synergy.








Peter Quinlan SC

Peter is barrister in private practice. He practices is a wide variety of areas of law, including public law, medical law and environmental law. Peter was admitted to practise in WA in 1996, and elected to the Western Australia Bar Association (WABA) in 2000.  He was the President of the WABA from 2015-2015 and appointed Senior Counsel in 2010. Peter holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Laws (Honours 1st class).

Ian Passmore

Ian has been actively engaged in community and public services including the leadership and executive management of Not For Profits, hospitals and government depts. over the last three decades. His lifelong commitment to community service led to the award of the medal of the Order of Australia in 2001and Centenary Medal in 2003. Ian holds a Bachelor of Sciences degree, a Bachelor  Commerce, a Diploma of Education and an MBA (WA) as well as being a qualified CPA. He has served as a member or chair of numerous Not For Profit, public university, health, hospital, government and community service boards, councils and committees.

For full functionality of this site it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are instructions on how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.